the barefoot budget

unconventional grit for a mindful life

More Autumn Crafts

5 Comments

Some of my fondest childhood memories are decorating our home for various holidays, mainly with decorations we made ourselves and stockpiled over the years. My mom kept everything in big rubbermaids, and I would get so excited when we brought them up from the basement. As an adult, I have wanted to recreate that feeling, mainly for autumn and Christmas times. 

The thing is, we didn’t have any decorations when we got together! Not eager to run out and buy a bunch of mass produced crap, we have turned to crafting our own! It has turned into somewhat of a tradition, especially for Christmas. I love it so much, I have extended it to autumn! The idea is that every year, we make a craft or two during the season to build our very own decoration stockpile. It’s a fun bonding activity and I love that all our decorations are personal and have memories attached to them.

This year we made God’s Eyes together in autumn colors. My other craft is leaf garland! I picked out leaves from our yard – oak, redbud, maple, and laurel – and used them as stencils to make felt leaf cut outs. I then strung the cutouts together on yard with some beads. It was super easy and inexpensive. The best part though is the experience I had laying in bed under the covers, listening to Ryan Adams or Fleetwood Mac or Guided By Voices (my autumnal music), stringing the leaves together. It felt so seasonal and cozy. 

I love the way this simple craft came out! I laid the garland over our mantle.


 

5 thoughts on “More Autumn Crafts

  1. Love the garland! I also love decorating for the seasons. I have quite a few things for Christmas and Easter, but not much for fall… I think I might try to make a garland like this! Thanks for the inspiration!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Looks lovely! I too enjoy crafting different holiday decorations, especially with my kiddo.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. How much fun is this! I’m thinking of making a garland like yours and using a fabric pen for the family to write what we’re all thankful for. I think we all need a little reminder of the good things in life.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

